You are the owner of this article.

Student Congress Senators look forward to next year

  • ()
  • 1 min to read

Student Congress plays a very crucial role on the campus of Doane University and this week was an exciting and important one as voting for the 2018-19 senators took place, April 24 and April 25.

There were a lot of students in the running for senator, but only 10 were elected as senators.

The results were tallied and on April 26 and student congress welcomed those elected. The new upcoming senators are Freshman Brandon Crom, Tyler Garder, Ryan Jansen, Monte McNeil, and Bailey Sloup. Returning in the senator positions are Freshman Quinn Martin, and Kenneth Weber, Sophomores Zachary Renshaw, and Olivia Steffensen. Sophomore Ivy Banks was also elected.

Martin explained he wanted to be a senator again “I thought there were issues at large and my job wasn’t done yet and I am in a unique situation because I’m in a position where I can interact with any and all students at Doane University.”

Like Martin, Steffensen also wanted to serve the Doane students again.

I chose to run to be a student congress senator again because, whether it's listening to student concerns or planning stop day, I love serving my fellow students and I think that all of the senators elected for next year’s congress are fully equipped to make the best choices on behalf of the students,” Steffensen said. “We all bring something great to congress, and I'm excited for the upcoming year.”  

In addition to these senators, earlier this month there was a very heated election on our upcoming President and Vice-President. With a total of 391 votes for these very important positions our new senators will be joining President is Junior Maddy Vogal with 68.5% of the votes and our new Vice-President is Sophomore Angela Twidell with 51.1% of the votes.