Student Congress senators elected for the upcoming year

  • 1 min to read
stuco pic

Ten students have been elected as Student Congress senators for the next school year.

StuCo announced the new class of senators on April 24, following the Vice Presidential and Presidential elections.

Sophomore Monte McNeil is back on StuCo as a senator for the second time. McNeil wants to focus on housing policies and improving the food service on campus next year, he said.

“We have a lot of returning faces, so I'm really excited about getting back to work with them and of course meeting our new friends as well,” McNeil said. “It's an awesome feeling knowing that I did a good enough job that the my peers thought I deserved to be back and voted me in.”

There are eight returning senators, according to the StuCo website.

Freshman Kayle Byrd is excited to be on StuCo for the first time, she said. A couple of projects she wants to continue to work on next year include getting an ice machine for Hansen Hall and creating more diverse meal plans for off-campus students.

“I am very honored to have been elected as a Student Congress senator,” said sophomore Ivan Ortega-Nguyen. “I am very excited to be taking on new challenges next year alongside some of the best people on campus.”

The ten elected senators for the 2019-2020 school year are:

  • Madi Warrelmann

  • Ivan Ortega-Nguyen

  • Sarah DeBoer

  • Quinn Martin

  • Kayle Byrd

  • Monte McNeil

  • Haley Miller

  • Brandon Crom

  • Kenneth Weber

  • Kade Wehrs